And I felt my soul singing.

Juan Felipe Aranguren
3 min readSep 21, 2022

Or why I’m going full time into the climate space.

As a kid I used to devour fantasy literature. And while unaware, those books thought me about Nature 🌍 .
Its depth and strengths. Its role as a never-ending source of magic and wisdom. Nature was the setting of incredible adventures and far-reaching destinies, and thus I learnt to respect it, and as one dreamy kid, I also came to believe that I could either find or build such fantastic realities… ✨

Fast forward many years, I got a brief chance to work in the civic society space, and through the incredible work of incredible movements such as Guardians of the Forest, Extinction Rebellion and Fridays For Future I finally understood Nature from a lens of reality. The fight for Nature, waged by a huge, common-sense possessing majority, against a system (bolstered by few) that sees Nature as a mere externality to be exploited for money 💸 .

So when this pandemic hit, when the latest IPCC report came out with dire warnings and when the effects of climate change began to undoubtedly ravage our home, affecting us ALL and threatening our collective future; I knew I couldn’t work from the sidelines anymore. I felt deeply troubled by all this and even disgusted by witnessing such callous systemic inaction. I realized that I had absorbed enough knowledge already so time it was to get skin in the game.

I felt my soul singing for purpose.

And now honoring my fantasy-loving inner kid I’m going to help build fantastic realities. That’s why I decided to dedicate my entire career to s̶t̶o̶p̶p̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶h̶u̶m̶a̶n̶-̶g̶e̶n̶e̶r̶a̶t̶e̶d̶ ̶c̶l̶i̶m̶a̶t̶e̶ ̶c̶h̶a̶n̶g̶e̶ building a future in which the climate catastrophe is no longer a looming threat for humanity. No longer reacting to chaos while trying (unsuccessfully) to change this reality.

I will build my own reality.

Envisioning, creating and scaling a Solarpunk-worthy future in that process 🔆.

There are a myriad things that need to change, and a lot of movements that need to be started in order to re build our global systems as sustainable mechanisms. The complexity of it all is staggering, and something that lots of us struggle with, but there’s a road to be taken here. One lesson:

Start.

Take your first step.
Meet your fellow, passionate humans.
Acquire knowledge.
Learn about what works, learn about what doesn’t work.
Be open to pivot yourself and your work.
Understand that nothing lasts forever (impermanence).
Share and uplift.
Remain inspired
❤️‍🔥

So today, right now, I’m taking the first step of many and that’s why I’m quitting my current job and injecting, at long last, the purpose that has powered my life, for so long, into my career.

My first task is helping build the electric mobility infrastructure for the entirety of Latin America 🌎 ⚡️.

Step by step, as always.

--

--

Juan Felipe Aranguren

Humanity and Sustainable systems. (software) engineering, regeneration, economics, product and words.